Book Review: I Want You To Want Me (A Rock Star Romance) by Erika Kelly

I Want You To Want MeSynopsis: Derek Valencia finally has the success he’s worked so hard for. His band is touring its debut album and great reviews are rolling in. But when pictures of him tossing naked groupies off a balcony go viral, it’s damage-control time. He’s assigned a “babysitter” whose sole job is to keep him out of trouble.

Violet Davis swore she’d never work in the music industry again, but being a minder for a rock star will earn her enough to pay off the mortgage on her wildflower farm. And for a girl brought up in the foster care system, owning her own home means more to her than anything.

Though at first the two bang heads, the rocker and the farm girl soon grow close and realize that they make sweet music together. But can a girl who craves the stability of life on a farm really make it work with a man whose life is spent on the road with his band?

Review: I should start by saying, I absolutely love, love, LOVED the first book in Erika Kelly’s Rock Star Romance seriesYOU REALLY GOT ME. Needless to say, I was eagerly anticipating the release of I WANT YOU TO WANT ME, and I was not disappointed!

Although Kelly is a relatively new published author, her skill at writing is clearly well developed, which is why I find myself so immersed in her books. From the rock star lifestyle and screaming fans, to envisioning the fields of wildflowers and the smell of the ocean air, to literally crying over the heartbreak, I was not just reading Derek and Violet’s rock star romance, I was living it with them.

Things I Loved About I WANT YOU TO WANT ME:

  • The rock star title!
  • The sexual tension and build up was sexy-hot!
  • The lyrics.
  • Imagining Derek’s band, “Blue Fire,” opening for “Imagine Dragons” at Madison Square Garden.
  • The continuation of Emmie and Slater’s story from YOU REALLY GOT ME.
  • The introduction of Francesca, Mimi, and Four O’Clock Farm.
  • Irwin Ledger’s interview.
  • And of course, Derek and Violet’s rock star romance.

As I mentioned, I love, love, LOVED the first book, so I was ecstatic my favorite characters were back in a big way. However, I do think I WANT YOU TO WANT ME loses some of it’s urgency if you have not already read YOU REALLY GOT ME. It definitely lays the ground work and character development that explains the urgency and need to bring in Violet.

Recommendation: Although not necessary, I would definitely recommend starting with YOU REALLY GOT ME and then read I WANT YOU TO WANT ME. Both books are a must-add to any public library. The third book in Erika Kelly’s Rock Star Romance series – TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT should be out in April 2016!

Bonus: Lyrics to Emmie and Slater’s song; Derek (big-brother) approved.

“You Love Me” by Kimya Dawson

I moved around from town to town
Lots of people around, but still so lonely

Friendships would grow then I’d hit the road
Making up excuses for why I had to leave

Always been too scared and unprepared
To let anybody get too close to me

But when I met you right away I knew
You would never ever ever hurt me

And the road’s still long but you come along
And you hold my hand and you understand

When I look at you I can’t believe it’s true
You’re all I ever dreamed of and you love me
And you love me, and you love me

Leave a Reply

