Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I Have Never Read

TOPTEN

I love “Top Ten” lists! It was one of my favorite segments on the “Late Show with David Letterman.” When I discovered TOP TEN TUESDAY hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, I knew I had to join in on the fun.

Here’s my first official TOP TEN TUESDAY list. It is a few days late, but it was too good to miss.

Top Ten Hyped Books I Have Never Read

1. OUTLANDER by Diana Gabaldon

10964I started OUTLANDER multiple times over the years. I even read past the time travel part, because fellow readers assured me that the story picks up. For whatever reason, it did not keep my interest. I tried, I really did. Maybe someday…

2. THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO by Stieg Larrson

2429135Everyone loved this series! Me, not so much. I started it twice, and then I read the summary on Wikipedia. Sorry, but not really.

3.FIFTY SHADES OF GREY by E.L. James

10818853First, I have nothing against the FIFTY SHADES OF GREY series. The books got people reading and talking, and that is always a good thing!

Again, I tried. I read almost one-third of the book, but it just did not keep my interest.

4. THE LION, THE WITCH AND THE WARDROBE by C.S. Lewis

100915 Maybe one day…

(Is it weird that I posted FIFTY SHADES OF GREY and THE LION, THE WITCH AND THE WARDROBE back to back?)

5. MY SISTER’S KEEPER by Jodi Picoult

10917I have not read one of Jodi Picoult’s books! I need more HEA, and less reality; even her book descriptions get me down.

6. THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green

11870085 Same as above.

7. EAT PRAY LOVE by Elizabeth Gilbert

19501 I am not a big nonfiction fan.

8. CHARLOTTE’S WEB by E. B. White

24178An animal dies. Enough said.

I have also never read MARLEY AND ME, WHERE THE RED FERN GROWS, OLD YELLER, or BLACK BEAUTY.

9. THE LORD OF THE RINGS by J.R.R. Tolkien

33

I love the movies! I watch them at least once a year. However, the books are another story.

I tried reading them before the movies came out, and I tried again after the first movie was released, but to no avail. J.R.R. Tolkien goes into a lot of detail creating this world, and for me, the story gets lost in it.

10.  THE GIVER by Lois Lowry

18760594

This is definitely on my TBR list! I think I have missed quite a few #YA books over the last ten years, so let me know if you have any suggestions.

What do you think of my list? Have I missed out on the best book ever?

Leave a Reply

